Pascal van Lieshout

Speech-Language Pathology


Rehabilitation Sciences Building
500 University Avenue, Floor 10, Toronto, Ontario Canada M5G 1V7
Research Interests
Movement Science, Speech-Language Pathology, Oral Motor Control, Speech Production, Dynamical Systems Theory, Articulatory Phonology, Speech Disorders, Stuttering
Not Accepting

Pascal van Lieshout is a Professor and Department Head in the Department of Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Toronto, a former Canada Research Chair in Oral Motor Function, and Director of the Oral Dynamics Lab. He studies dynamical principles in oral motor control of individuals with and without speech motor problems, including shuttering.

Recent Publications

  1. Namasivayam AK, Jethava V, Pukonen M, Huynh A, Goshulak D, Kroll R, van Lieshout P. Parent–child interaction in motor speech therapy. Disability and rehabilitation. 2018; 40(1):104-9.
  2. van Lieshout PH. Coupling dynamics in speech gestures: amplitude and rate influences. Experimental brain research. 2017; 235(8):2495-510.
  3. Diepstra H, Trehub SE, Eriks-Brophy A, van Lieshout PH. Imitation of Non-Speech Oral Gestures by 8-Month-Old Infants. Language and speech. 2017; 60(1):154-66.
  4. Slis AW, Van Lieshout PH. The effect of phonetic context on the dynamics of intrusions and reductions. Journal of Phonetics. 2016; 57:1-20.
  5. Alves N, Jobst C, Hotze F, Ferrari P, Lalancette M, Chau T, van Lieshout P, Cheyne D. An MEG-compatible electromagnetic-tracking system for monitoring orofacial kinematics. IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering. August 2016; 63(8):1709-17.

Honours and Awards

  • Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Oral Motor Function across the Lifespan [2004-2014]
  • Richard H. Barrett Award, International Association of Orofacial Myology. (Distinction) For Contributions in orofacial myology [2011]
  • Excellence in Applied Research Award, Speech-Language & Audiology Canada (SAC). Team award given to Dr. A. Namasivayam (PI), P. van Lieshout, Frank Rudzicz, M. Pukonen, D. Goshulak, B. Maassen, R. Kroll, and A. Rietveld.